input on handling rust... - Exterior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
input on handling rust...
Thursday, July 31, 2008 5:44 AM
OK, I'm looking for some input from people with lots of experience. I have a lot of auto body experience, but I've been out of the loop a bit for years, so I'm looking for recommendations for handling rust before paint.

I just have a good amount of surface rust, heavier spots in the typical crevices in the engine bay, but nothing structural. I'm stripping, sanding, grinding, and blasting to get rid of it as good as I can, but nothing's perfect, so I want to treat it before I lay some primer/sealer over it. I'm leaning toward Eastwood's rust converter, but I want to hear from people who have tried different products, and how they have worked out.

Re: input on handling rust...
Thursday, July 31, 2008 6:49 AM
The only 2 things i would do is cut and weld in new metal or POR-15.

Thursday, July 31, 2008 7:39 AM
Bagged Base Coupe (Tinkles) wrote:The only 2 things i would do is cut and weld in new metal or POR-15.

same here. Cody can probably comment on the POR-15 better, but this is the easiest option.

Thursday, July 31, 2008 8:10 AM
Ospho

My dad has used it for literally decades with great results and a gallon is only about $30.

Thursday, July 31, 2008 5:21 PM
Bagged Base Coupe (Tinkles) wrote:The only 2 things i would do is cut and weld in new metal or POR-15.

There is nothing bad enough to even consider welding. Just to put into perspective, I can pretty much sand all of it off with nothing heavier than 320, and have a smooth surface. There are only a couple of spots that are really going to require sandblasting, and that's just because I can't really get anything in there to sand or grind effectively. My only concern here is that I want to make sure the surface rust is 100% gone, so that I don't have it festering under the sealer. I have no structural issues. It's all surface.