what do you all think? - Other Cars Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
what do you all think?
Wednesday, April 04, 2007 2:55 PM
OK so here's the situation:

I have a 2004 Cavalier Z24 (Canada), about 70 000 kms (a large portion of that is from driving back and forth accross the country), purchased right off the dilevery truck in may 2004. I have followed the suggested maintenace, clean it thoroughly every week, don't drive it too hard, and It just has problem after problem. Now that my warrenty ran out, it is getting expensive. My brake calliper seized 2 months ago, and last week my clutch master and slave cylinders went ( which is about 6 hours labout to replace). I am a student with 2 more years of school to go yet.

Since this car keeps breaking, I'm trying to decide whether I should just sell it and buy somethign else, or keep paying for it and hope that nothing else goes wrong. it is Financed over 5 years, and I am 3 years into that. As a student I can't afford any unexpected repairs, so what I am thinking is that if I am gonna make new car sized payments, maybe I'd be better off getting another new car, that has warrenty. The other problem is that with a new car, I won't get any student loans, but I need to have a car.

If I decided to get a new car, these are the three that I will choose from:

Honda Civic LX coupe 5spd (Rallye Red)
pros -- excellent resale, good reliability, good on gas
cons -- I find it kinda ugly, not the best in the winter, less features

Toyota Corolla Sport (A package) 5spd (Alpine White)
pros -- fuel economy (plus $1000 rebate from gov't because of it's efficiency), I like the way it looks, reliaility, resale value
cons -- slowest, lacks features the others have, most expensive

Pontiac G5 GT coupe 5spd (Fully Loaded) (Blue streak Metallic)
pros -- by far the best looking, most power, most features, cheapest