New engine install, take 2,PICS, no 56 K - Photos & Media Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
New engine install, take 2,PICS, no 56 K
Sunday, June 18, 2006 1:05 PM
Well, as the title hints at, this is take two for my built engine install. The first install is detailed in another post here

As noted in the end of that thread, a wrist pin slide out into the cylinder wall after about 50 miles and ate up the cylinder wall. Well, instead of sending it back to JBP, who i didn't trust anymore, I let it sit for a while, i graduated, started a new job, and I finally put my attention back towards it in january 2006. The pistons from the first motor were re-usuable, the rods, were... not. I bought eagle rods, and convered to a floating wrist pin setup, so that the wrist pin has no chance to slid out (in a pressed fit design). I also cryo treated the rods, pistons, and my new flywheel.

After a lengthy process of gettings parts, cryotreating, and the machine shop assembling it all and fixing the cylinder wall with a sleeve, I got it back mid may, and put it all together. It's now running, and running well. Now, onto turbo. Here are a few pics from the install process.

Oil drive pump driven off that gear (from cam) inside the hole.

My work Area, a storage unit. I live in an apartment complex, so had to rent a storage unit. $230/month!!

Clutch installed onto flywhell

New brakes

Throwout bearings for transmission.

installed throwout bearing

In the air

tranny

water pump location

passenger side output from transmission

engine bay

rear tranny mount

Back of the block, near the firewall

Engine bay again

Water pump installed

Cylinder head

Combustion chamber

Intake ports

intake port close up

Springs close up, these are JBP springs, retainers, and locks

Exhaust ports

exhaust port close up

Starter installed

ready to drop in

side view

Skip ahead a few days, all done, and ready to start.

Brakes