Fiber Glassing For the First Time Thnx Airtonics! - Photos & Media Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Fiber Glassing For the First Time Thnx Airtonics!
Monday, April 03, 2006 7:38 PM
Well I tried Fiber glassins tonight. I just figured for 12$ worth of materials I can learn something new and I had the old Bezzel from my GFs totaled coupe. I must say I have a new respect for all people who FG their systems, and body parts. Very time consuming and hard. Not to mentiong stuff sticks to your fingers like no other.

Keep in mind this is my first try, I have not bondoed it yet and it still needs tweeking and sanding.

I want to say thanks to Aitonics for that post he made showing how he did his.

Chris

http://members.cardomain.com/vertz24 1998 Z24 Convertible

Re: Fiber Glassing For the First Time Thnx Airtonics!
Monday, April 03, 2006 7:53 PM
it looks like the holes might be a lil bit off but sweet none the less

and i assume that those are just test gauges... why two oil pressure gauges otherwise?

Re: Fiber Glassing For the First Time Thnx Airtonics!
Monday, April 03, 2006 7:57 PM
Not a bad first try... alignment issues it seems... and a LOT of sanding to do.

But a great first shot nevertheless.

-Chris-

-Sweetness-
-Turbocharged-
Slowly but surely may some day win this race...
Re: Fiber Glassing For the First Time Thnx Airtoni
Monday, April 03, 2006 7:59 PM
If you didn't sand that plastic real well with 60 grit, the fiberglass most likely is not going to stick to the plastic very long. So you might want to reconsider re-doing it now before you get any farther. Just try sticking a knife between the fiberglass and plastic and see how easily it peals off or gets air under it. You can see it when the color changes to white, that the fiberglass has lifted off the plastic. Other than that keep up the work its not as easy as it looks sometimes.

15.149 @ 91.26mph 3-18-2006
Monday, April 03, 2006 8:08 PM