5spd shfting problem - Transmission Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
5spd shfting problem
Tuesday, December 13, 2005 12:38 AM
I have a degree in automotive, and I know all about how a standard transaxle works but I have no experience with front wheel drive or this specific tranny and I've run into a problem I'm stumped on. Sorry for the long post I just want to include everything I know so maybe someone will know how to fix it.

I'm working on my sister's car it is a 98 cavalier rally sport 2.2L with 5spd(Isuzu) manual. The trans seized up, I did the R+R, shop rebuilt the trans. Now about once or twice per week the trans seems to be popping into 2nd when shifted in and out of reverse. When you shift into reverse(possibly 5th too, but not while moving) and back out the shifter gets stuck. I'm not sure if it's when you shift into, out of, or while in reverse. The shifter will still move side to side from 3/4 detent and back to 5/R and will still go in and out of R but will not go into 3,4, or 5, even after rolling the car. When its like this neutral is a foward gear(pretty sure 2nd) and reverse kills the engine. It does the same thing whether the shift cables are connected or not. I then have to remove the shifter(the one on the trans, not interior) then pry the top(1/2) gear selector back to neutral, reinstall the shifter and its fine again for a while. At first it did it about every other time you selected R, now it's more like once a week, if it was my car I'd probably just live with it for a while, it kinda seems like its getting better, but my sister can't be stuck wrenching on her car when this happens.

That's the problem in a nutshell here's all the background on whats happened so far: