turbo hot? - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
turbo hot?
Wednesday, July 06, 2005 12:17 PM
this is a stupid question but im pretty new at this turbo thing...i put a turbo on my Z last week with my dads friend nick who owns a turbo garage but thats besides the point. my question is i drove about 3 houses down (its not even an 1/8 mile there and back)and back just cuz my friend wanted to hear it. i hit like 2 psi because im untuned at the moment and just enough so it would boost up. i kno this is going to be stupid but i noticed that something was smoking that was basically sitting on the DP so i slide it aside because i dont need a fire. at that time i happened to accidently touch the turbo on the exhaust side and it was the hottest thing that i have ever touched in my life. is this normal? i could see if i drove it hard for a few blocks or mile but i honestly gave it little to no gas shifted 2 second and just gave it once again alittle gas..reversed and did the same back to my drive way.. like i said i barely got on it and it was the shortest of distance. its frontmounted and intake. is this due to untuned? or is something wrong?

speed kills, drive slow, drive a honda

You are what you Drive!

Re: turbo hot?
Wednesday, July 06, 2005 12:23 PM
Exhaust gasses being over 1000 degree's, things heat up quick.

4cyltuner.com - Information Source For 4 Cylinder Tuners
Buy stuff from CarCustoms Ebay! Won't be disappointed!

Wednesday, July 06, 2005 1:36 PM
ok i knew it would get hot but i never thought it gets taht hot in a minute..thanx

speed kills, drive slow, drive a honda

You are what you Drive!
Wednesday, July 06, 2005 2:05 PM
yea... even having it sit at idle for a few minutes it will heat up... ahaha i wouldnt even go near it after a long drive...

Saturday, July 09, 2005 1:35 PM