question about SCs for 2.4L cavys - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
question about SCs for 2.4L cavys
Monday, May 30, 2005 1:13 AM
im kinda new to the whole "boost" area of car modification, and i had a few questions i was hoping you guys could help me out with.

1) first, what is THE BEST supercharger on the market for 96-00 2.4L z24 engines, and where is a place i can get one?

2) assumming i built full internals, including rods, pistons, rings, headers, full exhaust, full injection and programmed the ECU, what do you guys think the most PSI i would be able to run is with the same SC?

3) what are STOCK internals of the z24 capable of running? how much pressure can a STOCK 2.4L engine take at the track without blowing up? anyone have some ballpark figures for me?

thanks guys!

Re: question about SCs for 2.4L cavys
Monday, May 30, 2005 1:39 AM
Look at the Sticky on the top of the page it gives you all the info you should need.

1. I think RSM offers a kit and so does GM I think you can get it at pace performance.

2. The GM Supercharger would be one of the best superchargers if you are looking at low boost and realiable.

3. I think a few ppl have ran 12-15 psi on a stock motor but that is pushing the engine to its breaking point. I have heard the rods start to snap around 250 hp not totaly sure tho and that was on a turbo. The GM Charger is prone to heat soak because of the powder coating but you can get it polished and it helps keep it cooler. The most I have heard on the GM charger for boost has been 8psi, there might be some others with a higher boost pulley tho.

Thanx Charles
Monday, May 30, 2005 2:18 AM