is my thinking of compressor maps correct??? - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
is my thinking of compressor maps correct???
Sunday, October 15, 2006 2:26 AM
K, i'm quite new to the whole turbo/performance stuff but I figured it was time to learn.
The first thing I decided to learn was how to read compressor maps.

I am working with a 2.2 Ecotec just running stock sizing. I know the internals would be need to be forged and what not but would this be a good turbo...

Garrett GT3571, 71MM, 52 Trim, 0.5 A/R
Running at 14.5 PSI

Please excuse my writing of the turbo numbers. I'm not too sure how else to write um.

Would that be a good turbo to go with to make in the 400-500 range?
If not, please explain why not. And please don't just give me an answer.
That is one thing I don't get. I think I can pick a turbo that'll "fit" the car, but I don't know how to guesstimate how much power will be made. Or is that just an experience thing??

Help is greatly appreciated. Just ask if something I said doesn't make sense.
Thanks

-Seth

Re: is my thinking of compressor maps correct???
Sunday, October 15, 2006 5:55 PM
Bump

-Seth

Monday, October 16, 2006 10:47 AM
considering you didn't out line WHAT your thinking of compressor maps was, all you asked really was if that turbo, on an Eco, can make 400-500hp........ and if not, can someone tell you how to read the Maps......

SPD RCR Z - '02 Z24 420whp
SLO GOAT - '04 GTO 305whp
W41 BOI - '78 Buick Opel Isuzu W41 Swap

Monday, October 16, 2006 8:50 PM
Ok, thats all you needed to ask.

I did it based on a way learned off this BMW site.
Anyways, you use the spredsheet he made to find the LB/MIN at 2000 RPM and at 3000 RPM. I don't know how to find the VE so I used his default value of 90.
At 2000 RPM the lb/min is 9.81 and at 3000 RPM it is 14.71.
Then, I draw a line from the 9.81 up to the pressure ratio (at 14.5 PSI is 2) then over to 14.71 on the lb/min.