radio shutting on and off - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
radio shutting on and off
Monday, June 18, 2007 12:06 AM
ok i just installed my subs and i've never had this happen before. when i play any songs with considerable bass at a comfortable volume my cd player will shut off and then power back on. do i need to add a capacitor or what should i look at to trouble shoot this.

Re: radio shutting on and off
Monday, June 18, 2007 4:18 AM
adjust your gains properly, do the big 3.

Monday, June 18, 2007 12:39 PM
the big three is done and the gain is set at 1/4. i've been installing stereos for over 10 years and never had this happen.
Monday, June 18, 2007 2:21 PM
What is "a comfortable volume"?
Do you have your REM lead going to too many things?

Monday, June 18, 2007 3:50 PM
20-25 range and remote goes to two amps, well i added a cap and that seems to fix it but when i turn on my headlights it still sometimes does it. any other thoughts.
Monday, June 18, 2007 4:15 PM
Sounds like you're running at a critical power level. Time to upgrade your alternator methinks.

Monday, June 18, 2007 7:22 PM
i was wondering if it was an alternator issue....

airride, 3 tv's, 2 amps, neon underglow, onboard trickle charger, 250 watt power inverter, cooling fan hooked to a toggle switch..

any alternator suggestions?
Thursday, July 12, 2007 12:25 PM
yup thats what it sounds like because I have the same issue. I have not done the big three yet but I rewired my power to my battery and I have not had any problems since. im running 2 cadence 12" and a LT-1920 2 channel amp. I also have a 2 far. cap but I think the cap is really kickin me in the ass. but I think I need to really upgrade my alt.
Friday, July 20, 2007 10:09 AM
It's possible your head's remote-on threshold is quite high or the main voltage just drops too low.

My old JVC would shut off if the voltage on the remote line was less than 12v.