a 10 inch sub with no amp...possible???? - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
a 10 inch sub with no amp...possible????
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 4:09 PM
Hey Guys...

Im a student who is srapped for cash, and just got my first car, (i know, sounds contradictory but..). Im looking to add a little bass to my system. I have an 04 sunfire, but with the 05 deck, original broke. Can i add a 10 inch sub to the stock deck without adding an amp, and what are my possible risks.

Thanx

Re: a 10 inch sub with no amp...possible????
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 4:14 PM
Simply put...
No!!

One you will get no movment out of the sub and two you can possibly do some real damage to your radio.
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 4:14 PM
no.

car audio noob since 1984.
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 4:15 PM
aight, thanx.. i know a guy who did it to his 95 cav and has had it playin okay for a few years, but he aint much of a car guy so this was my next stop.
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 4:26 PM
ok this guy you know lied to you for a few years or your just making it up...there is no way to get bass out of a sub with out an amp..
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 5:08 PM
/\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\ /\
its very possible if he used the stock speeker output. but ANYTHING good sounding couldnt have come out of it

Tuesday, April 10, 2007 5:15 PM
If you're looking to do it cheap, look for a cheap used powered sub on eBay or something. They're out there.

Tuesday, April 10, 2007 7:12 PM
the sub works in his ride, doesent sound great, decent, but not great....but he installed it himslef and it cost him $100, so i think he got away with it alright.
Tuesday, April 10, 2007 8:02 PM