Amp Power To Speaker Power Question - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Amp Power To Speaker Power Question
Saturday, September 16, 2006 10:44 AM
I own sony explode 760 w 2ch amp and 2 12 bazooka @350w each in a ported box .... and a indash touch screen dvd from pioneer
and a rockford cap
im new to the electrical side of things so im wondering ... could you blow these speakers using this amp ?

Re: Amp Power To Speaker Power Question
Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:31 PM
a more power ful amp always has teh potential but jsut dont crank the amp gain up and you should be fine

Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:40 PM
i didnt touch the amp .... mind u i did have the deck sub setting to 0 and it was sounding nice ... then the box seemed to bevibrating so i screwd it and it held up for a week or so and slowly it sounded more like ass

Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:40 PM
I'm curious as to why you have such a nice HU, but cheaped out on your sound.

Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:46 PM
well im working part time and paying the bills and starting to toy with the car is a slow process .... i originally got a sony deck with the 2 subs and amp from a friend ... the deck didnt work when i went to install it so a friend gave me the deck for a good price and i havent been able to upgrade more since ...... i dont want the box but was the only choice @ the time ... shouldnt sacrifice quality for a good deal but @ the time it was the quickest and cheapest way to get a system

Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:51 PM
That Sony amp pry puts out the following, so I would not even worry about overpowering...

150W x2 into 4O 20-20kHz, at 0.04% THD

190W x2 into 2O , 20-20kHz, at 0.01% THD

380W x1 into 4O , 20-20kHz, at 0.01% THD
Saturday, September 16, 2006 12:54 PM
hmm ..... guess its just the box .....
is there sound resisting glue out there for these ?

Saturday, September 16, 2006 1:04 PM