~Installing hydraulic suspension. Pics - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
~Installing hydraulic suspension. Pics
Thursday, March 27, 2008 4:40 AM
I'm modding the suspension a little bit, so i'll post the progress as I go. It is going to be fully bolt in after some parts are made.
I have been working slowly on it for a couple months so far, taking my time on it (and my money, hah)
A few people from jbody have kindly helped me with some freebies and detailed information. (FReQ Z (ikE-Zed), James Cahill , thank you guys.)

I was going to post this in the pictures section, but it would probably be better suited for the suspension forum in my opinion, however if you disagree move/lock/delete it as you wish.

So i'm trying to stuff 2 pumps with 4 batterys, each pump running on 24 volts. The suspension will have 6" cylinders in the front and 10's in the rear, with accumulators and powerballs on all four corners. Ride quaility, when installed properly hydraulics can ride as good, if not better then a stock car. The accumulators essentially turn the cylinder shaft into a shock.

Click the pictures for larger, they are a lil blurry-- screw it, cant be bothered to buy a new camera at the moment.. lol

The car:

The goods, Black Magic Hydraulics 2 pump setup.

Front suspension. These struts are 1-3/4" I.D, So I got some 1-5/8" O.D 6" hydraulic cylinders and a piece of 1-3/4" O.D - .060 wall round tubing to act as a sleeve spacer. This works great and leaves about a 16th of an inch around it. The fitting you see is a 3/8" swivel elbow, along with a 3/8" standard cylinder elbow. This will allow the front wheels to turn without pulling and binding up the hose. A couple nuts welded into the sides of the strut with a bolt will act as a pinch to hold everything together tight.