do i have everything for install? - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
do i have everything for install?
Saturday, April 01, 2006 6:45 PM
hey all

ok, i have dspecs, 1.7" all around springs, and all new front and rear mounts. is there ANYTHING else i need to make a complete clean switch? like i can simply remove the entire stock strut/spring/mount without having to keep any stock stuff and then install all my new aftermarket stuff . ( im new with suspension )

im debating on if i should get a shop to do this or not... also what is this bump stop that seems to get debated about being trimmed..?

thx to all that reply

Re: do i have everything for install?
Saturday, April 01, 2006 8:42 PM
You would be missing the spring isolators. You can find those at the dealer.

I'm assuming you have struts to go with the springs (even though you didn't mention that).

Saturday, April 01, 2006 8:55 PM
i did so , i said dspecs

thx for the quick response, what exactly do spring isolators do and what should i expect to pay for these. or if i have a shop do the install, should i just have them switch over the stock ones or is this something i should replace while im at it now....

Sunday, April 02, 2006 8:21 AM
My bad, somehow I missed that part.

The isolators are something that you should replace. I think they are like $10. They are just a piece of rubber that seperates the strut from the spring so that it doesn't make noise.

If you have all the stuff, I don't see why you would want a shop to do the work. You shouldn't need a spring compressor.

Sunday, April 02, 2006 10:08 AM
so i need 4 of them and they are what the springs sit on on the struts?. are there ones for the top part that meets the mount?

im only considering a shop because i have never done suspension work before....

and also if u could comment on the "trim the bump stop thing" because i dont know where/what it is, and if i should trim it.