Best Cavy engine - Mid East Region Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Best Cavy engine
Monday, December 24, 2007 2:59 PM
I am new to all of this stuff on here. I have a 2001 Z24 2.4L, I hear all of this stuff about which engine is better, I have heard go with the 2.2L or ecotech. I hear that the 2.4L is unreliable but have never been giving a reason. My question is which is the best one, the eco, 2.2, 2.4?

Re: Best Cavy engine
Monday, December 24, 2007 3:09 PM
i am putting on my flame suit for this one, you shall soon see why. It is mostly opinion based but generally they are only as realible as the one owning and working on them. I own a 2.4 but would love an eco.

Monday, December 24, 2007 3:26 PM
2.4_LS_4Door (Dayton86) wrote:but generally they are only as realible as the one owning and working on them. I own a 2.4 but would love an eco.

yeah i agree that you can extend the life of an engine by treating it right and taking care of it.

if you want an engine that you can rack up a few hundred thousand miles on w/o much trouble.....go with the 2.2/2200, but realize that its slow as hell.

if you want an engine that is strong out of the box and moddable but not too expensive.....go with the 2.4 since they are older and you can pick one up cheap and there are plenty of companies that make parts for them.

if you want an engine that should last awhile and takes boost well.....go with the ecotec. this is the next generation of GM engines and im sure we'll see nothing but good things from it.

overall, if you can afford it, go with an ecotec since thats whats hot and where everything is headed.

Monday, December 24, 2007 3:49 PM