Rear o2 sensor bypass - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Rear o2 sensor bypass
Sunday, January 31, 2010 11:40 AM
Im going to be removing my cat on my 97 cavalier z24 and i was wondering if anyone knew which resistor values and what not i would need to fool the computer to think that the o2 is there and working (pretty much just so the light dont turn on). Or if anyone has any other ideas on how to fool the computer.

Re: Rear o2 sensor bypass
Sunday, January 31, 2010 12:58 PM
why are you removing the cat?

JBO Stickers! Get yours today!
Sunday, January 31, 2010 1:13 PM
I'm not going to ask why you're doing this, but I will tell you that unless you have other serious mods, you gain next to nothing by doing so. That being said, the best thing I've seen people do that actually works (I'm a PA inspection mechanic) is going to advance auto/auto zone/whatever and buying two(2) SPARK PLUG foulers. Drill them out to accommodate the tip of the rear sensor, screw them together, thread them into the factory bung in the exhaust, and then re-install the factory sensor into that apparatus. It sticks out kind of far, but thats the idea. This way, most of the gas goes right by the sensor location without being read and only a small amount will reach the sensor, tricking it into thinking the cat is working. If you want to read up on this just google it. It's everywhere, as this seems to work across most makes and models (I first saw it on a Honda forum). Some have only had to use 1 fouler, but most report that it only works with 2 or more.

"In Oldskool we trust"
Sunday, January 31, 2010 2:00 PM