Thinner head gasket + Better head bolts? - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Thinner head gasket + Better head bolts?
Monday, December 08, 2008 7:39 AM
Now I know that I can raise the compression of my 2.2 by using a thinner head gasket, and I heard if you are going to do this is it only right to get better than stock head bolts.(heard it from a honda nut).

What would be the result of doing this?

Has anyone done this with positive results?

And, all I have are iridum plugs, and a C.A.I. Is it worth the $200?

Re: Thinner head gasket + Better head bolts?
Tuesday, December 09, 2008 10:06 AM
I am no pro it would be great if notec or Madjack go in on this but it can be worth it more if you add it with other mods like a built head or a port and polish. After that since you are changing your compression you will eventually want to tune it.

I have a bunch of plans like this for my Ln2. Sorry if it didn't answer your question about the bolt i figure if you aren't doing much more to make power the oem kind bolts would probably be fine.

The proper way of using the word seen. It is not I seen it that would be I saw it. He has seen the car is the right way to use the word. English class is Cool. By the way thats my sig
Wednesday, December 10, 2008 7:30 AM
It won't raise your compression much. However, there are added benefits from reducing your quench distance, which inceases thermal efficiency. Still, I don't think it's worth the effort if you're not going to do anything else, especially since it effectively increases the relative pushrod length, so you will also need adjustable rockers, which also requires new rocker studs. As M-1 said, wait until you also have a ported head to put on, or, until you blow a headgasket and actually NEED to get in there.

11 speaker JL Audio stereo setup for sale:
http://www.j-body.org/classifieds/audio/52021/

Wednesday, December 10, 2008 8:14 AM
Tru Tru.