first mod on a 2.2 ohv sunfire? - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
first mod on a 2.2 ohv sunfire?
Sunday, September 23, 2007 11:09 AM
hi i am a college student, and i love my 99 sunfire. the only problem i have with it is i cant decide what should be my first mod. i allready put a cherry bomb muffler on but i dont see or feel a difference.
what should i do?

Re: first mod on a 2.2 ohv sunfire?
Sunday, September 23, 2007 11:27 AM
Short ram Intake
Sunday, September 23, 2007 1:30 PM
Bottom line is that you're not going to feel much, if any difference on a stock 2.2ohv from an exhaust or intake. If you want more go, you need to be thinking about modding things on the engine iteself. It's not going to be quick, easy, or cheap. The cheapest thing you can do for an OHV with the simplest install that will actually make a noticeable difference would be nitrous. Personally, not the route that I'd go, but if you want something to have fun with occasionally, that's it. Otherwise, start saving for a turbo setup, and do the exhaust at the same time, all the way, not just cat-back. Head work and a cam change would be another place where you would see some gains, but again, not quick and easy. Just don't expect too much until you start getting into more time and/or money on it. You might actually want to consider getting another engine and building it on a stand, then swapping it out or having it swapped for you when it's done. With the OHV, unfortunately you have to go for the big stuff to start with, otherwise it's not going to be worth the other things. Hope this helps.

Sunday, September 23, 2007 3:50 PM
um ...... no ......

the quickest and fastest way to get a gain outa the 2.2 is in fact the exhaust. just not the muffler. but the header the down pipe and the cat.

the next is the intake or get some 1.6 1.7 ratio rockers

heres a few threads to check out http://www.j-body.org/forums/read.php?f=2&i=387734&t=387734