Installing header tomorow - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Installing header tomorow
Tuesday, March 20, 2007 6:44 PM
Well tomorow Im gonna install my ceramic pacesetter header and magnaflow 94035 cat on my 01 2.4 tomorow. Is there any tips or suggestions to make everything easier? Im new to the qaud 4 but not to engines. Im gonna do the install and clamp it then drive a few blocks to a local shop to get it welded up.

Does anyone ever have any problems removing the studs, like them breaking off in the head or anything? I plan to soak them with pb blaster beforehand. Also is it possible to remove the manifold and stock dowpipe before cutting it? I think that way I could measure it and all so I dont cut too short or anything. Lastly, should I rent an o2 socket or does a regular wrench work ok?

Sorry for the dumb questions it just seems like things always find a way to go wrong somehow and I wana be prepared lol.

Re: Installing header tomorow
Tuesday, March 20, 2007 7:17 PM
The install takes a little time to do but isnt that hard

To remove my stock manifold and downpipe i cut it under the car, i had a hard time to unbolt the manifold from the stock downpipe

Some of the Nuts/bolts are hard to get at, especially the one near the water pump

Just takes alot of time

Make sure you get a new gasket and don't use the paper one supplied

My o2 Sensor came out no problem with a regular wrench also

Tuesday, March 20, 2007 7:33 PM
Yea I figure it'll take about 3 hrs, but Ive got plenty of time. Ive also got plenty of tools like swivel sockets and all that realy help get to pita spots.

I guess Ill cut it a little before the cat, then unbolt the cat at the flange and cut it again.

Thanks for the info. Ill try to post up some pics after everythings done. Cant wait to get it on

Wednesday, March 21, 2007 12:13 AM