2.4 engine buildup any input? - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.4 engine buildup any input?
Friday, September 30, 2005 6:31 PM
Hello everyone I'm new to the 4 cyl scene as gas prices have forced me to rethink my daily driver. I am in the planning stages of an engine buildup of a 2.4 twin cam ( I got the engine from a friend for $50) and come tax return time I'm going to get a 2000 or 2001 Z24 5spd. Anyway I've already decided to get the Eagle H beam rods, custom forged pistons, hellfire rings, 2.3 H.O. head & intake, cams (not sure which ones) need help here, custom turbo header, 60-1 turbo & front mount IC,lightened billet fw, under drive pulley etc. I need help with cams & drives, engine managment ( does anyone offer a pcm reflash or programmer) and a forged crank. Would this combo be capable of making 450 - 550 whp? I'd like to build something similar to the 625 whp 96 Sunbird I saw in the May 2003 Hotrod magazine. Well how much whp is needed to push a full weight Z24 mid - low 11's? Any and all suggestions, changes pros & cons are welcome and thanks in advance for all help you guys can give.

Re: 2.4 engine buildup any input?
Friday, September 30, 2005 8:53 PM
remove the balance shafts while you're at it.

Saturday, October 01, 2005 9:34 AM
Oh did I leave that out, I read an article in Kitcar by Mark McPhail which outlined how to combine the best from both engines to make a monster.
Saturday, October 01, 2005 9:40 AM
you need to read a little more posts on this site. try seaching some of your questions

View my MySpace
Saturday, October 01, 2005 9:49 AM
Ok thanks Firebug I'll do that, however I did some searches (forged cranks) and came up empty that's why I asked but I'll try searches first then ask questions if no results from search.
Sunday, October 02, 2005 12:30 PM