An experiment... - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
An experiment...
Monday, September 19, 2005 7:22 PM
Just wondering what you guys thought would be ok for the biggest engine i can put in my 2000 2.4 Z24. I want a @!#$ load of horses, sure the more horses, the heavier the engine, but still... I want to know if i could drop a V8 in there. By the way, I know next to nothing about cars, I just have crazy ideas like this one and want to know if it is possible, and if not, what the biggest engine is I put in there. After that I need room for a supercharger and turbo both, plus a new intake cuz I'm not too crazy over the one I have now. So is it within any realm of possibility to do these mods?

Re: An experiment...
Monday, September 19, 2005 7:25 PM
you mentioned you know next to nothing about cars. im no expert either but i know for sure it will cost alot more than you think it will. A v8 is possible if you have to knowledge and cash to modify the frame and axles. Even if you do know how it will take you quite a long time. youre better off building on what you have. save up and go turbo.

"Youre lucky that 100 shot of nos didnt blow the welds on your intake"
-Vin Diesel
Tuesday, September 20, 2005 2:11 AM
Another big part is finding a drivetrain that would work on a v8 motor to stay FWD considering that most v8s are RWD.

The only people who seriously do this are Pro-Drag racers who have a ton of sponsors, engineers and mechanics.

Now, if you want a lot of power, you can make as much power as you want with your 4 cylinder. People should realize that you can make as much power with your 4 cylinder as you do with an 8 cylinder and more with the power of boost. If you can build a motor correctly, you can build a well maintained and reliably fast 4 cylinder car and for possibly less money.

www.kronosperformance.com / 732-742-8837

Tuesday, September 20, 2005 6:19 AM