internal or external wastegate??? - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
internal or external wastegate???
Monday, July 18, 2005 3:27 PM
hey guys im new to this turbo form, however i have been reading trying to educate myself. i am confused i want to set up a turbo sysytem to handle 6- 10 psi. now what would should i use. internal or external wastegate. any help would be great . ant other points that you can give me to help me out would be greatly appreciated, whats good whats not and were i can get this stuff. thanks

Re: internal or external wastegate???
Monday, July 18, 2005 3:50 PM
The way i understand it external wastegates are
easier to adjust and more reliable. I have
an internal and plan to switch eventually.

Monday, July 18, 2005 3:52 PM
internal... up to 10 i would say you'll be good... i would get and internal at like 3 to 5 psi and hten a boost controller to put it at 10... although you might get a bit of boost spike.. but possibly not enough to justify spending 250 on a good wastegate and then prolly another 100 to 200 for addint it to the manifold and making the downpipe work with it.. just my 2 cents

Memeber since 4/2002
Premium since 1/2005
Garret t3 turbo charger for sale.. $65 plus shipping
e-mail for more info
Monday, July 18, 2005 6:24 PM
Open dump rules! External all the way.

O noes!
Monday, July 18, 2005 6:41 PM
Smokey wrote:Open dump rules! External all the way.

^^^ true story ^^^

Monday, July 18, 2005 9:01 PM
As long as the turbo/int.wastegate package is designed and sprung decently internal wastegates are fine unless your gonna run 40 psi or something. I've seen 29 psi+ on other cars w/ internal 38mm wastegates w/ no creep or spikes. If you plan on upgrading bigger later external isn't too bad as then you'll already have the wastegate ready for whatever turbo you decide to go with. Plus an open dump is Or buy internal and use the saved money for something else more worthwhile.