polishing the ecotec cover? - Exterior Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
polishing the ecotec cover?
Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:08 PM
I don't know what it's called .. the valve cover or manifold or something, the top part of the ecotec engine... is there a way to polish it to make it nice and shiney?

I'm assuming you'd have to pull it off ... is that a lot of work? do you have to buy new gaskets or anything for it? what all is involved, i'm a newbie so use lots of detail please Thanks haha.

----------
Cavillac

Re: polishing the ecotec cover?
Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:12 PM
oh yeah i did search, and found 2 previous threads on this topic. I don't have any powered buffers or polisher wheels or anything, so I'd be doing it by hand...

what compound would you guys suggest using? and what to polish it with, just any kind of rag?

anything else I should know about it?

----------
Cavillac
Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:47 PM
[M wrote:ATTRESS]I don't know what it's called .. the valve cover or manifold or something, the top part of the ecotec engine... is there a way to polish it to make it nice and shiney?

I'm assuming you'd have to pull it off ... is that a lot of work? do you have to buy new gaskets or anything for it? what all is involved, i'm a newbie so use lots of detail please Thanks haha.

When i did my Valve cover for my 2200, it took 42 hours of hand polishing to get a mirror finish.

So if you still want to know after knowing that, just message me, ill give you the run through step by step.

Sunday, November 27, 2005 7:54 PM
I believe there is a type of powder coating that can give it a mirrored finish. You could also get it powder coated almost any color if you so desired.
A friend of mine told me that the gasket does not need to replaced. As far as removing the engine cover, all you do is remove the bolts on it. It's not hard to remove at all.

Sunday, November 27, 2005 8:08 PM