2.4l grand am performance suggestions please - Other Cars Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.4l grand am performance suggestions please
Monday, February 25, 2008 6:02 PM
newbie here,dont know if im posting in the right forum but title pretty much explains, so far i got a underdrive pulley ,cold air intake,poly upper & lower engine mounts ,skunk2 tuner muffler and gutted cat, i was just wondering what i should do next? and what all can i do with the pcm?i know you cant chip it , but what can i do to adjust timing and fuel curves? thanks in advance,any insight would be appreciated.

Re: 2.4l grand am performance suggestions please
Monday, February 25, 2008 6:17 PM
Well since you have a 2.4L, you can browse any of the forums on here since our 3rd gen J's use the 2.4L as well..

As far as tuning, alot of us are using HPtuners, but if you dont have heavy supporting engine mods then there really isnt a need to adjust timing and fuel curves.

~2014 New Z under the knife, same heart different body~
306 TQ
Monday, February 25, 2008 6:55 PM
SO HPTUNERS WOULD BE POINTLESS RIGHT NOW? WHAT SHOULD I DO NEXT?
Monday, February 25, 2008 9:27 PM
what about "secret cams" + hptuners?
Tuesday, February 26, 2008 6:23 AM
joe bland wrote:SO HPTUNERS WOULD BE POINTLESS RIGHT NOW? WHAT SHOULD I DO NEXT?

save your money and get a new car....

but i do have a set of secret cams that you could use if you wanna buy them off me.. they would give ya some decent gains

Tuesday, February 26, 2008 6:39 AM
simple boost. 2.4 and 2.2 eco grand ams can boost where v6 grandams are limited.

Tuesday, February 26, 2008 7:03 AM
grand am's are not necessarily simple boost unless you are reffering to the s/c. My turbo setup had to be completely custom right down to the manifold and tuning is still a problem for me. Honestly man, you'd be better off saving your money and buying a newer J to boost if thats the route you decide to go.