Timing belt/chain change? - Newbies Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Timing belt/chain change?
Thursday, January 05, 2006 3:26 AM
Is it a rather easy job to do? Since its my first time would it be easy is what i should ask? And what all needs to be taken off to do it and whats goin to be replaced while im in there? and finally should i replace it since im at about @!#$ ill post my milage this afternoon cant remember right now.... i think around 180k

1998 Sunfire, 2.2L auto

Re: Timing belt/chain change?
Thursday, January 05, 2006 3:37 AM
Hopefully this will answer your questions...

http://www.j-body.org/forums/read.php?f=11&i=96438&t=96438#96438

www.kronosperformance.com / 732-742-8837

Thursday, January 05, 2006 4:28 AM
You have an OHV. You have a chain but it doesnt need changing. And the chain on the ecos and LD9's shouldnt need changing.

Basically if it aint broke, dont fix it.

Madjack wrote:Like I said before, building an engine like ours (2.2 or 2200) is a painstaking chore , since there is so few custom made parts. It's frustrating to me too, but that's what I like about doing this engine, it's the challenge.

Thursday, January 05, 2006 7:21 PM
128k to be the milage right now. Really it doesn't need changed? i read on here that someones broke goin down the road and the pistons smacked the valves and whatnot basicly f*cked the engine.

1998 Sunfire, 2.2L auto
Friday, January 06, 2006 4:31 AM
That would make it defective. I mean you could change it. Its a pain in the ass, but its better to be safe than sorry right. I dont think your gonna have any problems with it.

Madjack wrote:Like I said before, building an engine like ours (2.2 or 2200) is a painstaking chore , since there is so few custom made parts. It's frustrating to me too, but that's what I like about doing this engine, it's the challenge.

Friday, January 06, 2006 3:20 PM
alright i guess i'll leave it alone so i dont mess anything up.