Fiberglassed Door Panel Progress Pics - Photos & Media Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Fiberglassed Door Panel Progress Pics
Tuesday, April 04, 2006 7:23 AM
Well, this is my first attempt at fiberglassing, so let me know what you think so far.

I mounted rings for my 6.5" speaker and tweeter in each door, covered them in cloth and applied a layer of resin.

The only problem that I have so far is that I part of the cloth above the speaker hits the lower part of my dash

I'm not sure if i should

1. Cut the piece of cloth out of the doorpanel that is hitting and put in a new piece of cloth and shape it so that it won't hit or
2. Remove the lower part of the dash, and reshape the piece so that it will fit with the door the way it is.

Any comments/ctitiques/suggestions are appreciated. Hopefully I'll figure out what I'm gonna do and get some time this weekend to start applying mat. Then I can post up some more pics.

Wide Body Progress

Re: Fiberglassed Door Panel Progress Pics
Tuesday, April 04, 2006 7:26 AM
Measure twice, cut once

P&P Tuning
420.5whp / 359.8wtq

Tuesday, April 04, 2006 7:31 AM
ImPhat0260/Cavattack2000 wrote:Measure twice, cut once

ha, could've told me that a few days ago. I basically got too excited to begin applyin the resin, and forgot to testfit the panels on the doors with the cloth.Well, live and learn.

Wide Body Progress

Tuesday, April 04, 2006 8:39 AM
Im lovin' the strawberry blunt wraps in the glove box . . .
Tuesday, April 04, 2006 8:43 AM
i was gonna say but then you posted it. my doors hit and my speakers were way smaller. i just cut a little nitch out and it actully looks really good

mabye you could try that

Tuesday, April 04, 2006 9:13 AM
I would rework the door panel rather than the dash if I was you. Looks good though,
Good Luck

Tuesday, April 04, 2006 9:54 AM
cut the door panel where it touches, and re-shape that...that will save you more time than re-shaping the dash board.