2.2 Mods for boost.. - Boost Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
2.2 Mods for boost..
Sunday, March 15, 2009 6:56 PM
Yes, I know, your thinking, f*ck, another thread by this kid...

I've been doing some research.. I ordered the Maximum Boost book by Corky Bell, should be in my hands in 7-10 days.

I do plan on turbocharging my engine..
Its a 94 2.2L.
It may get a new intake manifold with a larger throttle body, but I'm still trying to figure that out.
As for extra fuel, it'll be supplied with a extra injector controller.

I've got a few ideas to throw out there.. things I've found that other people have been doing with different platforms (SRT4s, the older 2.xL Chryslers, etc) to withstand more abuse...

I'm still learning and researching, but here goes. I've been doing some reading on S10Forum (my 2.2 is in a Sonoma, and I don't want a V8)

I read the roller rocker thread, has anybody put higher ratio rockers, such as 1.7 or 1.8, with a custom valve cover?

I think I will get my crank Cryogenically treated, is there any machining required after this is done, or will the crank just drop in?

If I got the stock rods shot peened, would this be of any benefit to them at all? Or would it be better to go with aftermarket rods. Would it be a benefit to get the aftermarket rods shot peened, if I were to go with them?

I read in the 2.2 Growing Pains thread, the 90-93 oil pump from the Cavalier is a higher volume pump, would there be any benefit to installing one of these?
Quote:

Both pumps are interchangeable, so some rebuilders have standardized on the later pump for everything, even though it has slightly less volume and a lower pressure relief valve (64 lbs. vs 80 lbs.).

I have found a 90-93 Melling replacement pump on Summit Racing. It says 90-93 Cavalier 2.0/2.2. I am not sure if it would be a higher volume pump than what I have in my stock motor... heres the link if you guys want to look..