Infinity Kappa 6x9 3-ways installed, TRUNK=RATTLE! - Audio & Electronics Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Infinity Kappa 6x9 3-ways installed, TRUNK=RATTLE!
Friday, November 11, 2005 3:21 PM
I installed some infinity kappa 6x9 3-ways in my car today. I had to mount them on the bottom of the deck lid with the provided spacers. I'm coming from infinity reference. These are really nice speakers. Very well constructed, they look good, and come with crossovers.

Anyway, to the point of this post, as I stated before, I installed them on the bottom of the deck lid since the cage of the speaker is too big to fit through the stock holes. I don't have the bass inreased or anything, but all I hear is rattle from medium to high volume..

I notice if I pop my trunk, and push up against the deck lid with my hand, it stops about 90% of the rattling..

I'm new at this stuff, and don't really know what to do about this. I was thinking maybe some kind of support or something.. or "dyno mat" or whatever..

----------
Cavillac

Re: Infinity Kappa 6x9 3-ways installed, TRUNK=RAT
Friday, November 11, 2005 7:04 PM
cut bigger holes in the deck lid, mount on top. like this:

take a piece of carpet or other thick soft material and prop it on the underside of the deck lid where you pushed up on it before. This should give you a very clean and crisp sound with no other noises. and you don't have to buy dynomat. hope this helps.

Saturday, November 12, 2005 5:00 AM
what would you recommend cutting the hole with?

----------
Cavillac
Saturday, November 12, 2005 6:51 AM
i used a dremel, remember to just cut small and fit test it then re-apply the carpet. one drawback is mounting it to the thin hardboard. I'll let you know when i think of something

Saturday, November 12, 2005 7:45 PM