Adjustable Ride Height? - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Adjustable Ride Height?
Tuesday, March 25, 2008 10:47 PM
I'd like to upgrade my '98 Sunfire coupe to a suspension that allows for ride height adjustability but I'm a noob to suspension so I'm looking for advice. I don't know which systems allow ride height adjustability. Been looking at the Koni Yellows and Tokico D-Specs, and some coil-overs on Gravana and http://www.extremeturbosystems.com and to be honest I'm just confused as to which ones allow you to adjust ride height. I know the Konis let you adjust damping but not sure about ride height.

I'm not picky about ride quality (seriously, you're talking to a guy who has driven 2000 miles in two days on a crotch rocket) and I don't want to spend over $750 if possible, but I'll go up to $850 if necessary. I know better than to get the cheap Ebay crap and I want to do this right. I am looking at this.

At $850 shipped it's at the top of my price range and I'm open to better deals on it if anyone knows where else to look but I think $850 is decent for that. I noticed it says "95-99Model Need to buy 00-04 Top Mt. & Upper S/P Seat" and I'm sorry to be unknowledgeable but can you fill me in on where to get that, what exactly it is, what it would cost, and how hard it is to install? I will have help from a mechanically inclined friend but don't want to impose on him too much.

I read in the Suspension FAQ the Koni Yellows (lowest price I found for them was $590 shipped) require some modification. I see people on here say it's not hard but again I am not very good with this stuff and don't want to impose too much on my help.

The reason I want the ride height adjustability is that I want to be able to slam it pretty low—3" too much?—at times (long freeway trips etc.) but lift it back up to reasonable levels for driving on the rough roads around where I live.