Coilover HELP please! - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Coilover HELP please!
Sunday, May 14, 2006 6:09 AM
Hey guys i installed my tein basics on my 97 cav yesterday. It went really really well for my first time. I got it done in al ittle over 2 hours. I just have a few questions since i am new to coilovers, I did search but didnt find an answer. Question 1. when i jack the car all the way up and both wheels are off the ground, is it normal for the spring to decompress and be fairly loose on the strut because i am pretty sure the coilover uses the car to compres it correct?? Question 2. When i take a hard slow turn is it normal to hear creaking? and Question 3. Do the springs break in and eventually drop a little lower, because when i looked at the car this morning it seemed to look a hair lower than when i was finished with the install last night. Thanks in advance guys!

Re: Coilover HELP please!
Sunday, May 14, 2006 7:31 AM
anyone?

Sunday, May 14, 2006 8:19 AM
*sigh*

Monday, May 15, 2006 4:50 AM
come on guys i just wanna know if i installed these right?

Monday, May 15, 2006 6:15 AM
1) yes
2) may need new strut mounts
3) quality springs = no

Monday, May 15, 2006 7:29 AM
They are new mounts and the threads are equal on both sides in the front but the car sits a tiny bit higher on the passengers side...

Monday, May 15, 2006 8:08 AM
your probably not on level surface. even though it looks level it may not be.

Monday, May 15, 2006 8:16 AM
lowered cars always look different at every angle and everytime u look at them specially to the owner imo

Monday, May 15, 2006 11:13 AM
What sort of bearing do those come with on the top in the front?

If it can't turn freely, then you'll get noises.

Monday, May 15, 2006 11:18 AM