Sway bar question - Suspension and Brake Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Sway bar question
Thursday, April 27, 2006 2:05 PM
Whats up guys? Yeah, ive read the FAQ ive ready many FAQs. Ive been on here for 4 hours scannin this site and the internet trying to find an answer to a pretty basic question. Im new to this modern stuff lol and im wondering, would it be wise to run an Addco rear sway bar without the Addco front? I have a 99 2200 base. I understand somewhat the geometry and handling characteristics of these, but still have been unable to find the answer to this question. What i want is awesome handling where i may autoX but definately runnin some curvys around the mountains where i live. I have 17s and 215/45s, GCs im getting ready to install, looking for Konis, plan on adding at least strut tower bars and a rear tie rod and subframe brace, maybe even A-arms to go with sway bar(s). Im thinkin with the Addco rear sway bar and no front, I would end up with too much oversteer. So im thinkin ill need to get the Addco front to go with this. Looking for your comments. Any help is greatly appreciated.

I root for the underdog...figured I might as well be one

Re: Sway bar question
Thursday, April 27, 2006 4:03 PM
Short answer no.
Driving the mountains out here in PA you do NOT want oversteer.
I would imagine the same where you are.

So for your own safety, dont run the rear bar alone.

Now if you compliment it with a front sway bar, 19mm, 22mm or 25.4mm then you'll be ok.

-M

Remember....syringes go in the RED waste basket.
Thursday, April 27, 2006 4:58 PM