CAI or SAI - Performance Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
CAI or SAI
Monday, December 12, 2005 4:27 AM
I was going to buy a ram air hood what one of thiose intakes works best. Please dont flame on me I am very new to cars.

Re: CAI or SAI
Monday, December 12, 2005 5:18 AM
whats a SAI?

And And intake is and intake is an intake. The differance between them in mostly cosmetic. Even a CAI verse a WAI is only a little bit, if any.

Monday, December 12, 2005 5:24 AM
sai well i mean short ram air intake what one would be best for a ram air hood? is there an intake that hood directly to the hood?
Monday, December 12, 2005 5:33 AM
Neither is better. You need to be going 100+ mph to get any gain from a ram air hood.

Monday, December 12, 2005 5:40 AM
well a cai souds better

Monday, December 12, 2005 5:47 AM
certsfire wrote:well a cai souds better

The souns is just a culmination of choice filter and piping and the angles.

Monday, December 12, 2005 6:07 AM
I think you need the stock intake and airbox to take advantage of the ram air hoods.

||Click to visit my Cardomain page|Omaha Racing|Nebraska Region SCCA||
Monday, December 12, 2005 8:21 AM
Tommy Boy ( Brutus ) wrote:I think you need the stock intake and airbox to take advantage of the ram air hoods.

You need atleast the stock airbox for the ram air hoods. However the rest of the intake tract can be replaced.

Monday, December 12, 2005 10:32 AM
Unless you drive 120 on the Autobahn every day, a ram air hood is pointless. But if you want one anyway, keep the stock airbox and replace the funky rubber nitake hose going to the throttlebody with a regular pipe. Most of the ramair hoods I've seen use the airbox as part of the system.

"Wenn ich gehen lasse von, was ich ich bin, werden Sie, was ich bedeutet werde, um zu sein."
Monday, December 12, 2005 11:43 AM