Throttle pedal question? - Maintenance and Repair Forum

Forum Post / Reply
You must log in before you can post or reply to messages.
Throttle pedal question?
Saturday, August 12, 2006 5:43 PM
In my girls car "hints the name Missbehaven" her gas pedal is hard to press and when you release the pedal the slows down faster than what I think a automatic should. Is the pedal suppose to be somewhat hard? Is there a way to adjust the hardness of the pedal?

Re: Throttle pedal question?
Saturday, August 12, 2006 7:05 PM
I'm assuming it's a 3 speed because many 3 speed autos (not just on j-bodies) will have a lot more noticable engine braking than a 4 speed with overdrive for instance.

I'm new to J-bodies in particular, but I assume they'd have a throttle cable like any other car. Check the cable and pedal for binding, lubricate where you can. Sometimes you can spray WD-40 or other penetrating oil in the housing/sheathing of a throttle cable, brake cable, etc. and it will free up over time and with use.
Saturday, August 12, 2006 10:21 PM
I'm not sure on this but theres a retracking spring on your pedal i think there a place where you can buy a lighter one that makes the petal softer to push

http://img86.imageshack.us/img86/4235/jim25ek.jpg
Monday, August 14, 2006 7:56 PM
Well I did some searching and I did find out that some models did come with a 3 speed automatic. Now the question is does anybody know of a place to that has the vin code decoded to tell me if it had the 3 or 4 automatic.
Monday, August 14, 2006 10:11 PM
easy does ur car have 1, 2 or 1, 2, 3 on the shifter indercator? 1, 2 its a 3 speed, 1, 2, 3 its 4 speed

Tuesday, August 15, 2006 7:20 AM